Testimonials

Hey Lori! Let me know when you are going to have another Yoga for anxiety, I have some friends that I would like to suggest this class. Thanks again for everything, It was the perfect moment for me to change some behaviors in me – and use those tools to take back the control in some situations – really, this is so important to me and right now I feel that something is changing – for the best – already.
– grateful participant of Sept 2017 Anxiety workshop

The “Yoga for anxiety” workshop really help me a lot! It’s all about understanding the connection between your mind and body and less of Yoga fancy positions… If you are looking for real life changing tools to help you when Anxiety comes, this is the right workshop for you. And of course, being in Lori’s classes is such a great experience, she is so nice and has a huuuge heart. ❤
– grateful participant of Sept 2017 Anxiety workshop

This was my big takeaway from today’s “Yoga For Anxiety” workshop with Lori Lucas
For those who haven’t had the pleasure of meeting her, I would highly recommend signing up for any one of her classes. She is truly amazing. She is passionate about self-care and supporting and empowering women through their many phases of life, including pregnancy and postpartum care. Find an excuse to meet this woman, you’ll be glad you did! – Priscille Belisle


“There are people in this world who make you feel seen, heard, and celebrated. It is a joy and a gift to be in the presence of such a person – and Lori is definitely the perfect example. She is knowledgeable and experienced without a doubt, but perhaps more importantly, she is warm, kind, passionate, and caring.

I have had the fortune of attending one of Lori’s workshops, and after a few hours I felt like I walked away with my pockets full – both for myself and my students. I loved her openness to different ideas and discussion, her honest sharing of what she has learned herself over the many years of teaching, her humble approach, and the welcoming atmosphere she created. To anyone who is either interested or involved in the world of pregnancy, birth, and beyond (the fourth trimester), she is an invaluable person to meet. However, it doesn’t end there, because what Lori shares is so very important, and anyone can benefit from her wisdom and insight.” – Dasha Bichenko


“Had the most amazing workshop with Yoga With Lori Lucas
She is an encyclopedia when it comes to yoga, prenatal / post-natal care, self care, core stability and so much more.
She is also a previous doula who has an endless bucket of love for mother’s. I highly recommend taking a class with her. It is even worth it just to know her. I can literally go on and on about her.” – Lyren “Ren” Cherlet 


“So excited about my prenatal yoga training I had this past weekend! Everything is coming together so well for my doula work and yoga teaching. Thank you Lori Lucas for your guidance and mentorship!” – Kristy van den Bosch


“Throughout my pregnancy I really looked forward to attending Lori’s prenatal yoga classes every week. For me, her classes were a tranquil oasis! She is a very caring and sincere yoga teacher and is clearly very passionate about what she does. Lori’s classes taught me essential breathing techniques and helpful positions that I was able to put into practice during labour and forego the pain medication! Lori takes the time to speak to everyone during her classes and genuinely seems to care about each of her students – she is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to useful resources both for pre and post natal care. Thank you Lori!” – Jayne


“Lori Lucas is as charming as she is knowledgeable. Her weekend prenatal training was packed full of knowledge that only someone who has dedicated their life to pregnancy would know. I would highly recommend Lori to anyone thinking learning more about yoga, birthing and authenticity.” – Claudia Nobauer

“Doing the course with Lori on skype was completely worth it.  I live out of town, and being able to pick flexible times that worked with both our schedules and learning from the comfort of my couch was certainly a nice alternative.  Lori is engaging online, and having the one on one teaching session gave us a chance to explore different parts of the course in greater depth based on my interests, which I really valued.  Thank you Lori!” – Holly Higgins


“Hi Lori, I wanted to share with you that our beautiful bundle of blessing has arrived! We had a baby girl!  She arrived in a flurry at 12:49am today on Thurs. Sept 29, 8 lbs, 3onz.  Although 3 days past due date (40 weeks + 3 days) She was in a hurry to get out once her eviction notice papers were served 🙂  Went from 1cm to 9cm in 5 hours.  Pushed for 1 hour and she arrived!!!  Mama, Papa and Baby are all doing well.
Thank you for all your support in prenatal yoga. It really helped to find comfort in labour and I visualized all our warrior poses and squats in class and how to find strength during contractions and then rest. I feel very blessed to have had a great pregnancy and I know it is due to your class and the many wonderful mama friends met there. Please share this news. I will come by for a visit once we are back home and settled!
Many hugs and blessings to you! – Roundhouse mama 


“Hi Lori, Yoga helped me more than ever last night. ‪Monday morning‬ I had a doctor’s appointment and I ended up laying on the table for I’m sure 20 minutes, and because of that my sciatica was the worst its ever been. Funny thing was I had booked a massage for the afternoon. As nice and it was, the massage did almost nothing to help my back and for the rest of the day, and Tuesday, I was limping around and in significant pain. But yoga saved me. After our class my pain was almost gone and my leg and hip had the flexibility back. I slept amazing and am still feeling pretty good today. This is my first pregnancy, so I have nothing to compare to, but I am convinced that I have been able to maintain my strength and stay comfortable due to your yoga classes (that I have been attending since week 11!) Thank you for all that you do!” – Jennifer


Lori’s prenatal course was fantastic and supportive in every way possible- I highly recommend it to anyone wishing to depend their knowledge of both pre and postnatal yoga and anatomy. Her love for mothers and mothers-to-be is profound and her knowledge is vast. I took my prenatal yoga teacher training when my own daughter was only seven months old, and the training meant so much more, having just recently experienced it all for myself. Since then I am wholeheartedly committed to bringing safe and fun yoga to women in all stages of pregnancy! – Emily Lefebvre


Dear Lori, I don’t think I ever properly thanked you for the 20+ weeks of yoga with you. It was without a doubt the highlight of my week. And your positive vibes, your gentle demeanour and calming energy was exactly what I needed mid week.  I’m an anxious person and a worry wart at heart but somehow your yoga classes made me feel safe, calm and secure. Please continue doing what you do and helping soon to be moms!  Many many many thanks. – Namaste, Ale (Alejandra) Hergert


Hi Lori, My baby was born last week after 28 hrs of labour and we are both doing great! Thank goodness I was in shape! Your class helped me a lot in labour. I had 4 hrs of pushing. My cardio, ab and leg strength made me be able to push my baby out vaginally when they were talking c section since my labour stalled and was taking “too long”. I was determined to birth my baby on my own vaginally and did. It was the hardest thing with the biggest reward! – Mount Pleasant Mom

Hi Lori, Wanted to let you know that my baby girl was born Thursday. Prenatal yoga was so helpful and it still is now to help feel grounded and balanced in body and mind. I used so many of your tips during labour and have no idea how I would have coped without your help. Thank you so much for everything.
P.S. Also wanted to add that it wasn’t only the yoga itself which helped – although that helped tremendously – but it was your personalized attention, caring and warm approach which reminded me of how important it is to take care of my well-being during the pregnancy and after. – Take care, Kim


We welcomed our baby boy into the world last Tuesday. Thanks so much for all of your help with prenatal yoga – helped so much physically and mentally. The modifications for my stomach separation were amazing as a lot of people don’t talk about it or know too much about it. If you ever start up a baby and me yoga program again let me know! – Lauren


 Hi Lori!  I cannot thank you enough for offering this course. I learned so much – not just for my own pregnancy but I also gained much more knowledge on how to extend the practice to expecting and postpartum mothers in the Philippines.  Thank you for all the resources! I am so looking forward to all the further reading and learning opportunities you have extended to us. – Danielle


There are so many yoga teacher trainings out there… Yoga teachers making a living off other yoga teachers… I didn’t think it was at all important to have prenatal & postnatal yoga training (I work at a studio that does not offer dedicated prenatal or postnatal classes) UNTIL the day an expectant Mama walked into my class!  Thank you for the wealth of information during and after this training, Lori! I loved learning from you and I miss your laugh!!  – Alethea


Your class was so amazing and I got a lot out of it. I was really blown away by your honesty, and your openness about your perspectives and your experiences. You’re a really incredible teacher and I feel really lucky to have had the opportunity to practise yoga with you, and then take your teacher training course. – Veronika Rezucha


So grateful for my prenatal, postnatal, and baby and me training with Yoga with Lori Lucas! This woman is an abundance of knowledge, insight and love. xo I have fallen more in love with birth, mamas and the incredible journey that brings us life. xo I feel inspired, empowered, humbled and open. – Stephanie Cebulka


Thanks again for everything! You are such a sweetheart and I can tell you truly care about all of your mamas! I really did appreciate the course, coming from someone who has not been a mother yet it was a great insight into what mamas-to-be need to feel safe and how important their birthing experience is & how we can tie that into our practice. Caroline Dawid


“Thank you for providing me with the tools to feel confidant about teaching a prenatal and postnatal class. I feel even more drawn to teach these types of classes as I know the need for community is there – when you’re pregnant and you have so many fears. And when you’re post-partum and feel all alone. Your passion is infectious and that’s why you’re a great teacher – in yoga and in life!” – Cassandra 


I just want to share with you that yesterday I gave birth to my son Gregory :)) It was a wonderful home birth. My doula and midwife noticed that my body was well prepared for it, because I did a lot of exercise during my pregnancy. So thanks again for your classes! And I really enjoyed your video in my last week of pregnancy. Thank you! Have a lovely day, ~ Anastasia


“Thank-you for sending your ppt from your workshop and also for providing the other links.  We really enjoyed your workshop and meeting you!  It is good to know there is someone we can reach out to if as we encounter questions related to teaching prenatal yoga. I have attached a copy of the photo we took with you, for your 2016 Toronto Yoga Conference ‘scrapbook’ Peace & Happiness to you” ~ Sandye Chang – Toronto Yoga Conference and Show 2016


Thanks so much for all these links and resources! I really enjoyed your pre-natal workshop during the conference! I feel much more confident at being able to give proper variations for my pregnant students in my gentle vinyasa classes and maybe even lead a pre-natal class soon too! I especially loved your description of designing a pre-natal class like a birth: effort and then letting go.


I don’t recall anyone else in the Philippines (where I currently teach) who structures their pre-natal classes in this way so it will be exciting to offer pre-natal yoga classes with this mindset. :)” – Jan Dizon – Toronto Yoga Conference and Show 2016


I thought you’d like to meet my beautiful baby girl, born on April 19 at 10am. She weighed 3.1kg and is super sweet. I wanted to say thanks for your prenatal yoga classes at Mount Pleasant. I actually had a c-section booked from 20 wks as my son was an emergency c-section and I was under general with him and didn’t want to miss this little girl’s birth for the same reason as that! After doing yoga with you though I was feeling strong and calm and ready to try for a vbac so I cancelled the caesarean about 2 weeks ago. My daughter did end up being delivered by c-section, a day earlier than I’d been booked in but it wasn’t a panic like with my son. There was time for a spinal block so both me and my husband were there for her birth. I was in labour at home for about 8 hrs before we went in to hospital and it became apparent I’d need surgery. I’m happy with the outcome anyway and very glad I tried. I used a lot of the positions from class for pain relief and the breathing we practiced so it was great to have that. It made a huge difference to my pain levels. The breathing practice also helped a lot when I started using the nitrous oxide gas to make it actually work

We’re home now and yoga is already helping with my recovery as its taught me how to focus on using the right muscles for moving. Plus I’m so much stronger for having done the practice throughout. I’ve also been using shivasana to rest between night feeds when the baby wakes after only 45 min or so – not enough time for a decent sleep but a wonderfully restful shivasana!

I’ve been doing yoga on and off for years but your class was certainly one of the best I’ve done. Such a great balance of the physical, mental and emotional aspects where some of the past classes I’ve done have focused on one area more than the others. A few of the concepts like “sending the breath” to parts of your body finally came together for me in your class too – I got it just in time! Anyway, thanks again. I’ll be looking up your other classes when I’ve healed enough to get back to it and I’ll be sure to recommend your prenatal yoga to every pregnant woman I know and meet!” – Mount Pleasant CC mom


I have taken your prenatal yoga class for the past four months, and I enjoy every minute of our classes! Thank you very much for your care about pregnant women, for your kindness, positive and light energy that you spread in our classroom! You are a great teacher! 🙂 My pregnancy is very happy and healthy, and I believe that a big part of the credit for this is your yoga classes!” Thank you! – A Mount Pleasant CC mom


“Lori thanks for a wonderful weekend of learning! Thank you for your generosity, for your fluids style of teaching and for your infectious love of what you do! I feel confident now to teach pre-natal yoga classes. I also feel I have made a wonderful new colleague and friend!” – Dominique Vincenz


“Lori’s class is amazing in so many ways….she is incredibly generous with her knowledge and resources as well as being outrageously passionate about the subject manner. It was wonderful to be taught with a limited number of students ensuring that all of our questions, Ideas, and our personal knowledge were acknowledged and shared with everyone.

I learnt more than I had anticipated, and I look forward to incorporating lessons learnt in my regular teaching. I recommend this course to any who are willing to be open, curious, and passionate about life such as Lori is.” – Kimberley Fenlon 


“Lori’s prenatal yoga teacher training is a must do for all the yoga instructors out there. She provides a comfortable environment and open communication for you to get the most out of the training. With her bubbly spirit, you can’t help but enjoy every second of it.” – Alex Vanderster


“Lori is all about her students and how she can help them improve, feel better, learn and simply evolve as trainees, yogis, teachers and ultimately human beings. Right from the start it becomes obvious how passionate Lori is about yoga, about teaching and about us, the people around her. Lori will offer you her support and vast knowledge, will create the most comfortable and open atmosphere for everyone to unfold and feel at home in her presence and will surround you with so much love… And what do you need more to improve, feel better, learn and simply evolve? Thank you for all this, Lori!” – Diana Firican 


“I just wanted to say thanks for the prenatal yoga!  I really enjoyed it and hopefully will make it to your baby class after Christmas.

Our baby boy arrived the morning of November 1st (I was due on October 28th) at 3:34am. My water broke at 1:15am with no signs of labour earlier. contractions started immediately and were strong. We think with the time change from day light savings that it was about 3.5 hours start to finish. We found out the hospital was full as we were about to leave the house so our midwife ended up coming to our house to deliver baby. Definitely not what I was expecting but everything worked out and we couldn’t be happier. Thanks again for all the yoga!” – a happy new mama

Proud to announce the birth of my baby boy! Born Nov 25, 2015 at 1:45 vaginally with forceps assist. Measuring 10lbs 4oz, 55cm long. I don’t believe that I could have done it vaginally if not weren’t for your class. Will miss your energy at the prenatal class at Mount Pleasant Community center. I will encourage many more mothers to be to enjoy your class. Thank you from all the us. – Happy new mama

 “I would encourage anyone to take this amazing course with Lori. Her passion for the subject matter is unparalleled. She is advocate for women and pregnancy and her experience and knowledge is extensive. You will learn everything you need to know about teaching yoga to pre and post pregnant momma’s. Lori’s beautiful spirit and wide open heart make the training extra special! She is a positive force and her energy is totally infectious! Life changing!” – Cheryl Bilyk

Just wanted to let you know that our new baby girl arrived safely and successfully (drug free thanks to all my mount pleasant prenatal yoga!) on May 31, 2015 and we are over the moon that she has joined our family.

Thank you for all your support and knowledge. Your passion and energy for what you do are very inspiring! Thank you!” – A New Mom


“Thank you for providing such a safe space to learn. It is not a question why you have such a dedicated following of students, your passion for mothers and expecting mothers is off the charts” – Rebecca


“Lori Lucas’s reputation as a prenatal and post natal yoga teacher is well known and well deserved. Her experience and knowledge as a doula enhances her training. Lori is able to engage students and yoga teachers to create a safe space to share her wisdom. I highly recommend Lori to any moms to be or yoga teachers wishing to get their pre, postnatal or baby & me training.” Caroline MacGillivray


“I really enjoyed the interactive, informal approach that you went with for the workshop. It allowed for a lot of discussion, which is where I found the most useful information. Thanks again for sharing your knowledge, experience and personal life with us. I truly enjoyed it.” – Brooke Taylor


“Lori creates a beautifully supportive environment, both physically and emotionally, where she generously shares so much of her knowledge about being a prenatal yoga instructor.   As well as presenting an extremely comprehensive and informative course, Lori ensured that our interests, questions and areas of particular significance were honoured and given time for discussion.” – Charlotte Watson


“In the past five years, I have benefitted immensely from being a client of Lori Lucas’.  I have enrolled in various offerings of her classes at our local community centre: prenatal yoga, baby and me yoga, and mixed levels Hatha yoga. I first met Lori at a mutual acquaintance’s baby shower.  Lori immediately impressed me with her spirit, knowledge, and enthusiasm.  I made a mental note to join her class as soon as I became pregnant and my life has been richer for it.”

Lori’s prenatal yoga class, which I participated in for both my pregnancies, was beneficial to me in so many ways.  Physically, it provided an invaluable program of stretching, strengthening, and relaxation that kept my body fit and strong throughout my pregnancies.  Emotionally, I felt secure and cared for in her class.  Mentally, the class provided an outlet to release stress, worries, and focus on my health and happiness.”
 
If I had to describe Lori’s style of yoga instruction in one word, it would be: supportive.  Like most women, I was particularly concerned with my health and the health of my baby during my pregnancies.  Given Lori’s supportive style of teaching and her experience as a doula, I trusted her completely with my physical health.  Her philosophy is one of mindfulness, responsiveness, and autonomy.  She would often begin the class by informing clients, “This is your yoga practice.  If something doesn’t feel right, don’t do it.  Listen to your body.  Modify.  This is your time.

In Lori’s prenatal yoga class, she offered many variations to each pose to ensure that each client was comfortable and safe.  She emphasized breathing techniques, which I personally found invaluable during my labours.  She explained many of the physical changes that take place in the body during pregnancy to help clients understand what they might be feeling and what they were capable of (or not).  She offered personal assistance if a client had a particular challenge.  She also offered techniques to relieve many common discomforts brought on by pregnancy, such as heartburn and sciatica.

Lori’s supportive style of instruction is consistent with all her classes.  In her baby and me yoga class, she offers modifications and insight to new mothers and even brings playthings for the little ones.  In her mixed level Hatha class, she consistently ensures that all clients feel safe and unpressured to perform or compete with others in her class. I would absolutely recommend that Lori’s immense knowledge and experience be shared with other instructors to the benefit of women everywhere.” – Kim Steger

“It has almost been one year since I started yoga with Lori. Lori’s gentle and positive approach to yoga has changed my life for the better. I never want to miss a class, though she says that the best yoga instructor is right inside of us. To listen to our own bodies. She has helped me to get in touch with me. I could go on and on about all the good that her classes have done for my body and my mind, not to mention the wonderful people in the class, that I have gotten to know too. She has set that all up! You have a very big heart and you are a wonderful teacher! Thank you beautiful Lori!” – Susan Pearson


“I have been practicing yoga for over 20 years now and I’m delighted to see how so many people in the West have taken to yoga over the past few years.  I’m also always on the search for an authentic Yoga Teacher who conducts a class out of love and passion for something that can be so beneficial at it’s simplest state. To me, this person is Lori Lucas. Lori is compassionate and caring and yet well educated in the authenticity of yoga. She reads her participants well and provides a program that is perfectly suited for each and every individual in the room.”

“I don’t have children myself, but I have recommended Lori’s Prenatal Class to friends who are pregnant and they’ve all mentioned how easy going and yet professional Lori is, and how patient and understanding she is of the different levels of stress the body and emotions go through during pregnancy. Lori is not only bubbly and approachable; she is also professional and well educated.  Someone who works with people in the depth that Lori does, needs to be well rounded and well grounded.  There doesn’t seem to be an opportunity that Lori doesn’t take on, her skills as a Doula & Yoga Practitioner and her outgoing personality are incredible assets.”

Because of her outgoing personality and different teachings, Lori seems to take on every aspect of being self employed to its fullest. From, volunteering, blogging, social networking and more, she still commits to each and every class with 100% of her energy and enthusiasm, resulting in a fabulous class and happy participants. In 2009, I spent 6 months doing yoga in India, when I returned, I wanted to find someone who had great respect for the ancient teachings and who delivered them in a simple and non-flaky way – that’s when I met Lori! In my eyes, she’s absolutely fabulous!” – Marnie Grey


“I’ve been a student of Lori’s Hatha yoga classes for nearly four years. I’ve taken part in her “Mixed Levels Yoga”, “Prenatal Yoga” and her “Baby & Me Yoga” classes at the Roundhouse Community Centre. Lori is an incredibly warm and welcoming individual and her classes were reflective of her amazing character. Lori managed to teach her Hatha yoga principals to all levels and ages, challenging those who were more experienced while guiding and positively correcting beginners and novices.”

Besides all of the positive health benefits (fitness, stretching to avoid injury in sport, pain management, faster recuperation from pregnancy), I found Lori’s classes to be relaxing and soothing which was one of my main incentives for attending. I truly enjoyed the atmosphere she created by using tools such as music, aromatherapy and a quiet warmly lit space. Lori had to be very inventive and resourceful to create such an environment given the space she has to work with in the rooms at the community center where she was based.

I was further impressed with Lori’s ability to be so sensitive, reassuring and gentle with expecting mothers in her prenatal classes. Her knowledge of the health concerns and issues of pregnancy was likely due to her experience as a seasoned doula and labor coach. Finally in the Baby & Me classes I was again impressed with her ability to work with new mothers. Lori has such incredible patience and created a quiet and welcoming space that all of us sleep-deprived and sometimes fragile new mothers so needed. She was always there to listen to our stories, complaints and issues and was always positive and caring putting her students’ needs first. Lori also offered any resources and recommendations she could to her students going above and beyond her duties as an instructor. I continue to attend Lori’s classes and to recommend her classes to friends and acquaintances.” – Andrea Gesner


“I have been taking part in Lori’s Mixed Levels yoga class at The Roundhouse Community Centre, and have been very pleased with the experience. Lori has a very pleasant and cheerful personality, and everyone is sincerely welcome in her class.  Lori is very professional and  is always well prepared and organized for class and creates a tranquil setting for us.   Lori is clearly very skilled as a yoga practitioner and as a teacher.  The mixed levels class I attend is mixed in every sense of the word ~ gender, age, and ability level ~ with the added challenge of drop in students.  Not many instructors could handle those demands, but Lori certainly can!  Lori always begins class by asking if anyone is experiencing any problems or concerns and, in response, she incorporates suitable poses into our class.  Lori clearly demonstrates each pose and provides options so each person can fully participate at their level.”

I was so pleased with Mixed Levels yoga, that I’ve added Lori’s Yin yoga to my routine.  I’ve had the opportunity to practise yoga in Turkey, Montréal and two other community centres in Vancouver, and I must say, Lori is by far the best yoga teacher I’ve had to date.  It is my pleasure to recommend Lori Lucas as a yoga instructor or presenter.” – Eva Machalek


“I have had the privilege of assisting Lori Lucas in her Limited Mobility Yoga Class that was running at the Roundhouse Community Centre from approximately September 2011 to March 2012.  In that time, her passion and knowledge for teaching really was evident.  Her compassion for the students and myself that she brought with her every class made the space a place of acceptance, safeness and personal growth. Whether it be conquering a yoga position that one’s body didn’t allow last class, or finally accepting one’s limitations and embracing them, Lori was there for each student with empathy, support and always a smile.”
 
Lori always started the class asking how everybody was doing, and took the time to really listen to the students.  Student’s suggestions were always listened to and incorporated into the class, whether it be working on certain body parts or a slower paced class for students wanting a more mellow class. Lori always accommodated happily.  Her teaching style was refreshing to listen to.  She would incorporate real life facts and situations into her class that made it feel more personal and not just “get into this position or that”.   It was apparent that all the students felt comfortable and loved coming to Lori’s class, as they all left looking forward to next week’s session.
I have learned so much from assisting Lori in her Limited Mobility Class that the experience was priceless, and would jump at the chance again to learn from this remarkable woman. Her experience, knowledge and passion for yoga are things that I hope I have the great pleasure of acquiring in my life time.” – Courtney Juke

“I met Lori when I was just 15 weeks pregnant with my first baby. I had never been to yoga before and was not sure what to expect, but practicing yoga with Lori made me feel so good and relaxed that I soon found myself completely hooked on Yoga and of course Lori! She makes you feel safe and secure and by practicing gentle prenatal yoga I also felt totally prepared for birth, all my aches disappeared and I felt energetic and soooo relaxed. After the birth of my baby, I (of course) went to “baby and me yoga” with Lori and later when my daughter was getting too big for baby yoga I practiced regular Yoga with Lori. Lori has such a big heart and she makes you feel loved. I am very happy that I can call her my friend. I would (and do) recommend Lori Lucas to any pregnant and non-pregnant woman I know.” – Caroline de Vos

“I have the amazing privilege of having Lori as my yoga instructor since March of 2009. I met Lori a few week’s after I had my daughter at one of her mummy and baby yoga classes. We instantly hit it off, and I was amazed at her skills not only as an instructor but also with her ability of creating a comfortable, calm and easy environment to practice yoga in.  I continued to take Lori’s class weekly. After a few weeks had passed my daughter started showing signs of a colicky baby.
Lori was amazing at helping me with my daughter through her classes that I was able to get some much needed rest and exercise in her classes. She’d bounce my daughter on an exercise ball for the majority of the class while instructing by voice.  It changed my life, I was able to relax and give back to myself.
When I was in a car accident and started having back trouble Lori was once again to my rescue. Since I was nursing constantly, I couldn’t do other forms of rehabilitation as I couldn’t be away from my daughter, but since I could bring my daughter and I trust Lori, I was able to start working on regaining my strength back. Lori is an extremely amazing person who always gives everything to those around her. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her as a yoga instructor (or friend) to anyone. My life is truly enriched having her in it.” Naomi Morrison

“I met Lori two years ago in Pre Natal Yoga.  I was very nervous on going at first because I have never done Yoga.  Pre Natal yoga with Lori was very uplifting, not only was i stretching and getting my body ready to give birth.  Lori put my mind at ease and made me feel less nervous with what was going to happen in 20 weeks. Lori taught me to breathe relax and forget all my troubles. I had a terrific birth and I must say it had a lot to do with Lori.”After my son was born I attended mommy and me yoga. It was perfect, It was somewhere I go to attend to my baby if I needed too and also talk with the other moms who are going through the same stresses. Lori’s class was great, again stretching and breathing helped me through a lot of my baby blues. Lori is more then just a yoga instructor, she is also a great friend.  She has been there for me during pregnancy and after.  She is a very sweet caring and understanding person.  Her Yoga is amazing.  She is a very good instructor and lets you go at your own pace.  She never judges and is always there to guide you through one of her classes. Lori has introduced me to the world of yoga and as for that I thank her.” – Carmen Mann

“Thank you so much for your superb teaching, great sense of humor, compassion, generosity. You’re so real and such an urban yogi. Your guidance helped me feel “open to grace” again. That means a lot to me. I’ll always remember these times with gratitude. It’s an amazing treat every single week.” – Mana Shirazi-Kia

“Lori Lucas has been my yoga instructor since March 2010.  i had just come back from three months of backpacking and my back was in a mess, due to a back injury from a car accident years ago. i have been taking Lori’s classes continuous since then at least once a week, mostly twice a week when i can.  i have noticed a huge improvement in my practice and my back no longer bothers me.  my body is stronger, my mind is calmer and Lori has guided my journey with compassion and friendship. I have been taking yoga classes on and off for the last 10 years and Lori is my favorite teacher i have ever had.  she is a credit to her profession.” – Justine Greer

“When I first found out that there was a program dedicated to prenatal yoga, I was relieved. Then I found Lori’s class and could not wait to begin. When I met Lori for the first time, I felt welcomed and comfortable. She beamed a light of positive energy. That’s important when dealing with a room full of hormone filled pregnant women. She made every class different and catered to our individual needs depending on whatever stage we were at in our pregnancy. She made me feel like my individuality was important, by reminding me that every woman, pregnancy and yoga practice is different. She helped me by giving me poses to do at home, catered to my specific needs. I then knew she cared about me and my health and my baby’s health. I am so thankful to have found Lori’s class during my pregnancy. It helped me sleep, it helped me stay calm and connected within and to my baby. I continue to take Lori’s class with my baby and will continue to take her class. I would absolutely recommend Lori’s class for every pregnant woman and anyone for that matter.” – Lyren Cherlet

“Lori is simply a wonderful yoga teacher. I began taking her prenatal classes in 2007, when pregnant with my first child. Since then I have taken many terms of classes with her – Mum and Baby yoga, Hatha yoga, and Prenatal yoga again when pregnant with my second child – both at Mount Pleasant Community Centre, and at The Roundhouse Community Centre in Vancouver.  I keep going back to Lori’s classes because of the wonderfully warm and supportive environment she provides for the practice of yoga. When I first attended I did  not know a single pose. She teaches in a way that is accessible to everyone and allows everyone in the room to develop confidence and move at their own pace and in accordance with the potential of their own bodies. Her instructions are very succinct and clear, and she regularly checks people’s poses without being invasive.

She always offers both less and more challenging poses for those who need them. She picks up on the energy levels of her students on different days and modifies the class routine to fit. She speaks just enough – generating a very positive yet meditative energy in the room. As a prenatal and postnatal yoga teacher, Lori is very careful to explain the poses that should or should not be tried in different stages of pregnancy, and by those with varying birth experiences or pregnancy conditions. She offers lots of gentle modifications and encourages deep rest as well as exertion.  Her prenatal classes really are amazing. I think a class with her would be a wonderful opportunity for teachers unfamiliar with prenatal yoga.

The very best thing about Lori’s classes though is Lori herself. She is one of the most positive, generous, genuine, and energising people I have ever met. She is deeply passionate about yoga, and she is a natural healer. Everyone leaves her classes suffused with this incredible energy, revitalised, and with renewed strength.” – Heather Walmsley

“In June of 2010 I suffered serious injury which severely impacted my mobility. After a year of fairly intense rehab where my recovery was good, but stalled, I decided to try rehabilitative yoga as a means of increasing fluidity of movement and lessening pain.  I was fortunate to meet Lori who brought both a superior knowledge of yoga’s restorative potential as well as a surprising degree of empathy regarding the effects of traumatic injury.  I can fully attest to Lori’s personal compassion and patience.  When combined with her deep understanding of yoga, particularly with respect to managing regular practice within the limits of one’s personal condition, these qualities have made Lori the ideal instructor for this stage of my own recovery.  I would not hesitate to recommend Lori’s classes for anyone whose aspiration is to increase personal well being within a framework of a supporting environment and thoughtful encouragement.” – Byron B. Brain Hemorrhage Survivor

“Lori is an amazing yoga teacher and fabulous support for all mothers-to-be. Her compassionate and warm demeanour helps all mamas feel welcomed and cared for. Her yoga classes helped me through my two pregnancies and her mama and baby yoga classes helped me carve out some time for exercise postpartum while meeting new moms. I never felt pressured to “perform” but felt nurtured and supported every step of the way. Lori helps us feel good during pregnancy and postpartum and shares valuable tips for labour and everyday balance. After attending Lori’s classes, I have gone back to a more regular practice of yoga and both of my kids now love practicing along. Our whole family loves Lori! I recommend Lori’s classes to everyone I know.” – Elodie Jacquet

“I wanted to send you my biggest appreciation and gratitude for your Workshop at the Vancouver Yoga Conference on Sunday. I really loved it and I am so blessed in having met you! A beautiful soul with such a great big true and pure heart, that is so passionate about her work with Pregnant Women, Birth, Babies, Families..you are amazing! Its so great to feel and see how much you believe and feel the nature of Spirit in Birth! THANK YOU! I wish there would be more amazing and empowering women out there for our Baby Mommas!” – Britta Shailaja

“It was great to meet you and your Saturday workshop at the Vancouver Yoga Conference was really fantastic! Your genuineness, warmth and fun are infectious. I know I speak for the whole group that we learned a great deal about how to take care of the mother in her prenatal condition. I was so sorry that I could not take your Sunday all day workshop. I trust that you remember me!” – Dyane Lynch

 “I was attending your Tuesday/Thursday prenatal yoga classes at the Roundhouse for the fall session. Unfortunately I can’t make it for the first set of sessions in Jan/Feb  because of work commitments but I wanted to let you know that you have really positively impacted my life and my pregnancy. We’ve had a stressful start to this pregnancy because of a previous loss but yoga with you has kept me feeling calm and grounded throughout these challenging days and weeks. I am definitely going to be signing up for your next set of classes in February and look forward to seeing you then. I am so grateful to have you on this journey with me!” – anonymous

 “Lori is an amazing yoga teacher and fabulous support for all mothers-to-be. Her compassionate and warm demeanor helps all mamas feel welcomed and cared for. Her yoga classes helped me through my two pregnancies and her mama and baby yoga classes helped me carve out some time for exercise postpartum while meeting new moms. I never felt pressured to “perform” but felt nurtured and supported every step of the way. Lori helps us feel good during pregnancy and postpartum and shares valuable tips for labour and everyday balance. After attending Lori’s classes, I have gone back to a more regular practice of yoga and both of my kids now love practicing along. Our whole family loves Lori! I recommend Lori’s classes to everyone I know.” – Elodie Jacquet


“I wanted to send you my biggest appreciation and gratitude for your Workshop at the Vancouver Yoga Conference on Sunday. I really loved it and I am so blessed in having met you! A beautiful soul with such a great big true and pure heart, that is so passionate about her work with Pregnant Women, Birth, Babies, Families..you are amazing! Its so great to feel and see how much you believe and feel the nature of Spirit in Birth! THANK YOU! I wish there would be more amazing and empowering women out there for our Baby Mommas!” – Britta Shailaja

Advertisements